a change of tack, from one project to another!

This week I think I can finally say the end is in sight, well with the refit inside anyway!

I managed to wrap up the final berth we wanted to add, and started dragging all the left over building materials off to shore.

foward starboard side when we bought her

foward starboard side when we bought her

IMG_5565 IMG_5566

when I started working

when I started working

IMG_5952

still needs a little trim, but nearly done!

still needs a little trim, but nearly done!

It’s great to see the difference in how Sea Raven sits now, and I’m looking forward to sailing her again soon as every time I take weight off, she improves on the water!

sitting heavy in Ensenada, pre weight-loss program!

sitting heavy in Ensenada, pre weight-loss program!

This isn’t to say we are done though!  I still have varnishing and the final trim touches to do, with Sabi preggers, I couldn’t go filling the boat with varnish fumes, handy excuse I know, but it will have to wait awhile.

a flash back to darker days dockside!

a flash back to darker days dockside!

What I can move onto now is the rigging and sails.  The charter companies had her set up to cruise around the bay while people drank and took photos, I want to sail her around the world… while getting drunk and taking photos!  This means moving the winches and putting in a few new pieces to make her easier and safer to sail.  Ideally I will be able to get her to the point of being able to pretty much sail her by myself, and one day teach Sabi the same tricks.

experimenting with line angles and clew height

experimenting with line angles and clew height

This week I also managed to speak to Sea Raven’s Dad!  He still lives in the states on the East Coast where she was built, and after talking to him for a half hour, I had a whole new take on what I should be doing and what the old girl can do!  He told of chartering her from New York and all along the east coast of the US, and a trip to the Bahamas that saw them having to turn in a storm and surf for 12 hours and all the time Sea Raven handled like a dream, a far cry from the bucking bronco I have to control when ever the waves kick up!  He said he will be sending through some photos soon, which I am really looking forward to seeing, she was built and finished as a high end charter yacht, and when she moved to the west coast, they turned her into a charter work horse, weighing her down and reigning her in, time to undo all of that!

the fins have gotta go

the fins have gotta go

So now I’ve decided to cut the deck extension off and the weird stabiliser fins that have been added to her sterns.  I’ve been watching those fins every time we’ve been out lately, and all I see is turbulence… which equals drag… which means we go slower… not cool.  I guess they (they being the charter slave drivers) needed to off set the weight of a teak deck (gone), two big diesel generators (gone), a 6 foot foredeck extension (gone as soon as the boss lets me take to it with a saw!) and a collection of outdoor seating that I’m pretty sure would have stayed in place during a hurricane, it was that heavy!   So with all that weight taken back off her, not to mention the 600+ pounds of lead ballast, yup, lead ballast in a catamaran, that I scrapped, its time to take her back to her original lines.  I’ve been holding off doing all this until I could track down her builder so I could ask how she behaved earlier, now the only thing stopping me is finding somewhere they can haul me out for a couple of weeks.IMG_5522

the before and after of the foredeck

the before and after of the foredeck

All of this can wait for a while though.  We have the family coming from Holland to visit us for two weeks on Monday,  a week with them in Mexico City and then a week here in La Paz and the surrounding area.  I haven’t seen them since our wedding two years ago so looking forward to catching up!  And looking forward to a holiday myself!

So I’ll leave you with a belly update and will write again on Mexico City soon!

26 weeks, only 14 to go!

26 weeks, only 14 to go!

 

6 responses to “a change of tack, from one project to another!

  1. I do know that they can haul you out in La Cruz. They’ve got Profligate up there now. I don’t know about a place in the sea.

    • but will they let me do the work? seems all the yards around here like to do the work themselves, at half speed and twice price! hoping to get out in Guaymas once bubs is on board

  2. Yes I think they have a new policy in regard to work done at the yard.
    Secondhand, but I think implemented April 1. Boat looks great!

    • Hey Larry, thanks for the update, will possibly head down there this winter, just going to tuck Sea Raven away here in La Paz for the summer now, what are Sun Baby’s plans?

      • HIya! Nice to hear from you. We are back in San Diego. We were awarded a slip at SDYC, they emailed us in Jan, so we did the Banderas Bay regatta (3rd in class), and then started home. Beth was a trooper, it was just the two of us, but we were able to pick good windows and had an uneventful, but long trip back up. So we are here, now, and don’t really have a plan from here. Strangely, Beth wants to get a job, so she is starting on that, I am going through the boat a little, we might decide to sell it. If Beth doesn’t come around and want to head out anymore, we probably will, it’s too much boat to just sit at a dock.

        So that’s what is up with us, The baby should be coming soon, no?

        Take care,

        Larry

      • a job? although I admit I’m looking forward (?) to being able to have an income for a change one day, though we still have to cross the pacific to find somewhere!
        bump is due to hatch mid July, we leave Mexico in a week for Holland, have ended up just tying to the dock at Fonatur here in La Paz, still over priced, but feels better than the other limited options we had.
        good luck state side!
        Terry

Leave a Reply

